Seven West Media

Board of Directors

Kerry Stokes AC

Chairman - Non-Executive Director

Mr Stokes is the Executive Chairman of Seven Group Holdings Limited, a company with a market-leading presence in media in Australia and the resources services sector in Australia and China. He is also Chairman of Australian Capital Equity Pty Limited, which has significant interests in media, entertainment, research and technology development, as well as property and industrial activities.

Mr Stokes’ many board memberships include the International Council for Museum & Television; Council Member for the Australian War Memorial; and a former Chairman of the National Gallery of Australia. Mr Stokes holds professional recognitions which include an Honorary Doctorate in Commerce at Edith Cowan University and an Honorary Fellow of Murdoch University.

Mr Stokes has, throughout his career, been the recipient of many awards, including Life Membership of the Returned Services League of Australia; 1994 Paul Harris Rotary Fellow Award; 1994 Citizen of Western Australia for Industry & Commerce; 2002 Gold Medal award from the AIDC for Western Australian Director of the Year; 2007 Fiona Stanley Award for outstanding contribution to Child Health Research; 2009 Richard Pratt Business Arts Leadership Award from the Australian Business Arts Foundation; and 2011 Charles Court Inspiring Leadership Award.

Mr Stokes was awarded Australia’s highest honour, the Companion in the General Division in the Order of Australia (AC) in 2008. In 1995, he was recognised as Officer in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AO).

Mr John Alexander

Non-Executive Director

John AlexanderMr Alexander is the Executive Deputy Chairman of Crown Limited.

Mr Alexander was the Executive Chairman of Consolidated Media Holdings Limited (CMH) from 2007 to November 2012, when CMH was acquired by News Corporation. Prior to 2007, Mr Alexander was the Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of Publishing and Broadcasting Limited (PBL) from 2004, the Chief Executive of ACP Magazines Limited from 1999 and PBL’s group media division comprising ACP Magazines Limited and the Nine Network from 2002. Before joining the PBL Group, Mr Alexander was the Editor-in-Chief, Publisher & Editor of The Sydney Morning Herald and Editor-in-Chief of The Australian Financial Review.

Michelle Deaker

Non-Executive Director

Dr Michelle Deaker is the Managing Partner of OneVentures, an Australian venture capital firm investing in, and building, through business operational leadership, innovative high growth technology companies servicing large global markets. Dr Deaker moved into venture capital post the successful exit of the e-commerce technology company she founded in 1998, E Com Industries ( At exit, E Com managed $700 million in Australian retail liability. Dr Deaker is a director of NICTA, Australia’s National ICT Centre of Excellence, and is a member of the NSW Government’s Taskforce for the Digital Economy.

David Evans

Non-Executive Director

Mr David Evans is the founder and Executive Chairman and Managing Partner of investment advisory company Evans and Partners Pty Ltd. Mr Evans has extensive experience in investment banking and stockbroking, including being a member of the Board of Directors and Managing Director of Goldman Sachs JBWere. In addition to his role as Executive Chairman and Managing Partner of Evans and Partners, Mr Evans is a board member of Export Finance and Insurance Corporation.

Peter Gammell

Non-Executive Director

Mr Gammell is a former Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Seven Group Holdings Limited.

Prior to the formation of Seven West Media Limited, Mr Gammell served as a Director of Seven Network Limited for 14 years. He was Chairman of the Seven Network Limited Finance Committee and was a member of the Audit Committee.

Mr Gammell is a former Director of Federal Capital Press Pty Ltd, the publisher of the Canberra Times (1989 to 1998) and is a former Director of the Community Newspaper Group (1996 to 1998).

Mr Gammell is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland and holds a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Edinburgh.

Ryan Stokes

Non-Executive Director

Mr Ryan Stokes is Chief Executive Officer of Australian Capital Equity Pty Limited (ACE) and Chief Operating Officer of Seven Group Holdings Limited. Mr Stokes was appointed an Executive Director of ACE in 2001 and CEO in April 2010. ACE is a private company with its primary investment being an interest in Seven Group Holdings (SGH). He has been an Executive Director of Seven Group Holdings Limited since February 2010, and was appointed Chief Operating Officer in 2012. Mr Stokes is also a Director of WesTrac Pty Limited and has been a Director of Seven Network Limited since 2005, Executive Director then Chairman of Pacific Magazines from 2004 until 2008 and previously a Director of Yahoo7 from inception in 2005 until 2013. Between 10 September 2009 and 19 November 2012, Mr Stokes was a Director of Consolidated Media Holdings Limited.

Mr Stokes is Chairman of the National Library of Australia, a position he has held since July 2012 and is a Director of the Australian Strategic Policy Institute. Mr Stokes is also a member of the Prime Ministerial Advisory Council on Veterans Mental Health established in 2014. Mr Stokes is the former Chairman of Australia’s National Youth Mental Health Foundation (Headspace), a Federal Government initiative established in 2006. Mr Stokes was also a former member of the International Olympic Committee’s 
Radio and Television Commission.

Mr Stokes holds a BComm from Curtin University and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management (FAIM).

Don Voelte AO

Deputy Chairman – Non-Executive Director.

Deputy Chairman Seven West Media Limited. Former Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Seven West Media Limited. Chairman of Coates Hire.

Mr Voelte has significant experience in the global oil and gas industry and, prior to his retirement in June 2011, was the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Woodside Petroleum Limited, a position he had held since joining the company in 2004.

Prior to joining Woodside Petroleum Limited, Mr Voelte held a number of Senior Executive positions in the oil and gas sector. Mr Voelte was a member of the Board of the University of Western Australia Business School during his Woodside tenure, and is a member of the Society of Petroleum Engineers, the American Society of Civil Engineers, the Chi Epsilon Honor Society, a Foreign Fellow to ATSE (FTSE) and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD). He is a trustee of the University of Nebraska Foundation and was awarded the University of Nebraska Engineering Alumni of Year in 2002. The University of Nebraska recently named their Nanotechnology and Metrology Research Centre for Mr Voelte and his wife Nancy. He has a degree in Civil Engineering, from the University of Nebraska.